Novel Experiment · writing

Writing Week in Review: 8/13-8/19

Note to self: trying to keep up a writing schedule while continuing to work and uprooting your life requires more time management skills than you have.

As you may have guessed from the above statement, I’m in the midst of moving! The new place is lovely and it’s all very exciting, but finding time to write while tossing all of my belongings in boxes and deep cleaning the house was an interesting jigsaw puzzle to complete. Let’s see how I did.

New Word Count Goal: 5000

Starting Word Count:32093

Ending Word Count: 37101

Total New Word Count: 5008

Percent Goal Achieved: 100%

I’ll still be unpacking and painting for the early portion of this week, but with any luck, I’ll have a bit more time to write. I make no promises about the quality of that writing though. Packing/unpacking is currently sitting in my brain and gnawing like an amoeba.

I hope your weekend is off to a lovely start and you are covered in less dust and paint than I am! (The paint is various shades of orange, golden rod, green, and purple. Apparently my new place is going to be very colorful.)

5 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 8/13-8/19

  1. This is Jennifer again.

    A few weeks ago, a woman in my Holy Spirit (all ladies) group prophesied over me. I am strongly debating on writing a post in regard to the medical ‘diagnosis’ I have been given of a rare form of Ataxia.

    May I PLEASE, Please ask your ‘opinion’ as to whether-or-not I would be shooting myself in the foot by ‘sharing’ my personal medical experiences with this Ataxia, or is it smart to ‘give’ my info. for others to evaluate for themselves?

    Your wiser advice WILL help me decide. (I am new to blogging and that’s why I question what to write/share. Will this go over; will this be received?)

    Growing In Christ,

    Jennifer Lewis

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is definitely a hard question, Jennifer, and I’m not sure I’m the best person to ask, but I’ll do what I can to help.

      Plenty of people blog about medical journeys both as a way to offer support to others and to receive support themselves. I’ve seen people write about their experiences with cancer, celiac disease, and other physical issues, so I’m sure a place exists for a blog or even a post about your ailment as well.

      However, I am also a big believer in only putting things on the internet that you would want someone else any one else to read. The people that I have met through blogging have been lovely and supportive, but the internet can be a harsh place. Whether or not your story is something you want to put out there is something that only you can decide. I suggest you take some time to think on what kind of internet presence you would like to have. There is certainly a place for a discussion of Ataxia, but if you choose to write it, you’ll have to accept that people might judge your experiences for good or ill.

      I’m sorry I’m not more helpful. I believe that you’ll make whatever the right choice is for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

