Novel Experiment · writing

Writing Week in Review: 8/27-9/2

Enfant_écrivant-Henriette_Browne

In spite of myself, I managed to put a few more words to paper this week. The itch to begin cleaning up narrative elements grows ever stronger though. I am forever an editor at heart, and the temptation to work on structure, character, and language lingers. But enough of that. Let’s see how writing the first draft of my novel experiment has gone this week!

New Word Count Goal: 5000

Starting Word Count: 42245

Ending Word Count: 47310

Total New Word Count: 5065

Percent Goal Achieved: 101%

Overall, I’m satisfied with what I have written, but I have had to combat competing urges to write dozens of pages a day or none at all. I think this has to do with where I am in the plot. Finishing the first draft is both a near and far thing. It will be done by the end of this month – I can tell – and that proximity brings up all sorts of conflicting emotions.

What do you do when you begin to see the end of the writing tunnel? I’d love to hear how other authors deal with this phase. My method currently involves eating a horrifying number of meals in front of my laptop, and alternatives would be lovely. 😉

13 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 8/27-9/2

  1. Congrats on keeping up with your goals 🙂 I’ve never written anything of this length before but when I’m nearing the end of a longer piece, my techniques aren’t any better than yours – I’m so excited to finish the plot that I live the last few days mostly between my laptop and my bed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. End of the tunnel in sight? I know I go into a flurry of activity and try to get it finished. Actually, 5,000 good words is not at all bad for a week. Resist the temptation to overeat, and definitely not too much coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on reaching your weekly goal! Whenever I finish a first draft I celebrate, then put it aside for at least 6 months before I look at it again.I need plenty of time between drafts to see the holes in the manuscript clearly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

