Novel Experiment · writing

Writing Week in Review: 10/29-11/4

Enfant_écrivant-Henriette_Browne

In terms of writing, this week has been a bit scattered. I’ve been focusing on my current writing project for so long that my brain has become a bit fried from it all. So in order to prevent complete burnout, I’ve allowed myself to focus on other types of writing.

These include such exciting things as:

1.  Doing some brainstorming and plotting for my next major project. I wasn’t nearly as organized with my current project as I would have liked to be, and I’m looking forward to having more of my ducks in a row for the next manuscript.

2. Putting together an interview series for this blog. I have recently begun talking to several publishing professionals (editors, marketing folks, designers, etc.) about producing an interview series here. I’m thrilled with how it is shaping up, and hopefully in the near future I’ll be able to share some great interviews about how to succeed in the publishing industry, what makes a strong manuscript, what book trends are on the horizon, and more.

3. Exploring other online writing options. I absolutely adore writing for this blog and interacting with the people I’ve met through it, so I’ve been investigating other ways to publish online. Nothing may come out of it, but it’s still interesting to see what opportunities are available.

Now that I’ve done all kinds of writing except work on my current project, I feel ready to return to it. I have set aside a fair amount of time this weekend to begin editing again, and I am eager to get started.

I hope that any other writers are having a productive writing week, and if you want to share some of your writing procrastination habits, I’m very interested in hearing about them.

11 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 10/29-11/4

  1. Interesting post, Kristen. I think I’ve fried my brain on my current (under the gun) manuscript for the fifth book in my Mac McClellan Mystery series. I’m halfway through, and decided it wasn’t working. So, I went w-a-y back into the story and made a major plot change. Now I have to search and make sure everything falls in line with the change. I think my problem is overload. The fourth book is coming out in January, and I’m faced with promotion and getting early blurbs and reviews. Throw in real life and it’s nagging problems, and I sometimes want to crawl under my desk, curl-up and cry. Poor me. 🙂
    Good luck with the “interview” idea. That should be a nice addition!
    –Michael

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Promotion and blurb tracking can be such a time sink, but at least they serve their purpose. And January is coming up so soon! It will great to see book four released into the wild.

      I’m less glad to hear that hiding under desks and weeping for the state of novels is a common experience, but you do keep a wonderful perspective on the whole thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have had a really successful week. I love the idea of interviewing industry professionals on your blog and very much look forward reading them in due course. As for writing procrastination… I sometimes find myself spending too much time playing games when I should be doing other admin chores:(. I hope the coming week is a good one for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

