Novel Experiment · writing

Writing Week in Review: 12/3-12/9

The curse of the writer is, among other things, a lack of focus.

With the upcoming release of When We Go Missing, I should have spent the week concentrating on making sure that I sent out marketing and promotional material. And I did do some of that. (I even have a great list I’ve compiled of places to freely promote books that I plan on sharing with you all eventually. I just have to get my act together first.) But in addition to marketing, my brain decided to become really excited about my next writing project.

Really excited.

So excited.

10,000 words worth of excited.

While I’m (very) glad that I haven’t reached a stage of writing burnout yet, I do wish that I could have channeled all of that energy into marketing. I suppose this week’s lesson is that though I have finally learned how to buckle down and complete a final manuscript, I still need to learn to focus in other areas. And that is okay. It’s a learning process.

Alternately, publishing a book is quite the adrenaline rush, and my body decided to pour that into writing more. If that theory is true, I can’t say that I mind it!

Regardless, I hope you all are having  a lovely weekend and aren’t too cold if you are in the Northern hemisphere. And if you haven’t already, follow me on Facebook! I just setup an author page and am vaguely terrified of its existence.

 

15 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 12/3-12/9

    1. Thank you! There will definitely be at least a print version – there was a bit of a hiccup with the printer – and that will also be available on Amazon.

      If you don’t mind me asking, are there any other ways you like to buy books? I’ve been taking a haphazard poll of people because I want to make sure mine are available in the formats people need.

      Like

      1. Alrighty! Print version it is!

        When I was in the US, I usually bought print copies of books. Since I’ve been in Brazil, I have had trouble finding print versions of books (they don’t have Amazon in the Amazon. Isn’t that something?), so I’ve been hitting up the Apple store. Hope the info is helpful!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. That is so funny! I just experienced the same thing. As soon as book 1 was uploaded, and book 2 edited, I started thinking researching book 3. I think writers and marketers are two very different creatures. Marketing, for us, is work; creative writing is what feeds us:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For all but those writers that are also very marketing minded, it seems to be a bit of a crunch once a manuscript is finally finished. I have had exactly the same experience and feel that writing more (and particularly finishing) really fires me up for more writing. What it doesn’t do is fire me up for marketing and for me at least that is because I find the whole process so daunting and a learning curve entirely different to the one you go through as a new writer. However, it is there to be done and thank goodness for so many great bloggers who are willing to share their experiences! Very good luck with your launch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

