libraries

Baking Gingerbread Libraries for the Holidays

library-cake-full

Though I have all of the baking prowess of a self-aware shellfish, I appreciate other people’s skills in that area, especially during this time of year. I recently stumbled across a wonderful baker, Kathy Knaus who fills that cake shaped hole in my heart. Kathy has created a very detailed, multi-tiered library cake.

Library Cake Front.PNGThe inside view of the cake likely looks very familiar. Gumdrops stand in for the ubiquitous green lamps that appear in many libraries. The books, globes, and other details were created using fondant, and Kathy used edible dyes, pens, and paints to add various other details. It is obvious that a lot of love and care went into the cake’s creation.Library Cake Inside.PNG

I suspect that a classic gingerbread house could also be transformed into a gingerbread library, so if any of you decide to be ambitious and make something similar, you’ll have to share your creation. For fear of ending up on a baking fail list, I’ll leave that task to you.

—     —     —

Image Attribution: Kathy Knaus, https://www.facebook.com/katknaus

 

37 thoughts on “Baking Gingerbread Libraries for the Holidays

  1. That is awesome! Though, I would never attempt such a thing. My gingerbread house last year was apparently not structurally sound. >.> The roof fell off within an hour. Good thing it was no longer snowing in Gingerbread Town. Haha! I, like you, will leave the baking prowess to those with this kind of talent! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I am truly stunned – and I am someone who can really appreciate all the work that goes into something like this. One year (ONLY), I made big fancy personalized gingerbread people as presents – they were sooo much work, I was still working at dawn the next day, and they might as well have been chocolate chip (gone in a gulp!). NEVER again!

    FYI, I pinned this to my Library Lust board.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha! That is always the question about highly detailed cakes or gingerbread houses. I’m always leery of eating things like this, but I know that some people have highly detailed wedding cakes that get devoured. (…Though now I want to write a children’s book about a monster that eats a library.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s very true, much more sturdy than some that have been homemade! I have however made some gingerbread snowflakes, I think the taste of gingerbread is so good. A work of art, in terms of your library

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

