writing

Writing Week in Review: 2/4-2/10

Enfant_écrivant-Henriette_Browne

Writing is like constructing a jigsaw puzzle. For me, it is at any rate. Though I know the most efficient method is to find the corner pieces, put together the edges, and then, only then, begin working on the insides, sometimes I can’t help myself. Sometimes I begin constructing the puzzle in the wrong way.

It usually starts when I find a piece that is particularly alluring. Let’s say it is a blue one. As blue as the sky but somehow better. So I have to find the pieces that are surrounding it because I need to know whether or not that piece truly is as blue as I think it is. I work on that section for a while until I stumble across a piece that is red with a slash of yellow across it. Then I have to find the pieces that go with the red on because how can I ignore something so bright, so daring, so different from the blue?

This week has involved a lot of metaphorical puzzle building. I’ve long ago given up worrying about the jumping around that I do when constructing a story, but I do still have to take a moment to acknowledge it. I am a creature very much trained in doing things the “right way”, and acknowledging that there are multiple right ways to complete a project has taken some time.

But my little jigsaw puzzle of a narrative will make a picture in the end regardless of how it is constructed. Stories always do.

Weekly Word Count Goal: 5000
Total New Words for Modern Mythology: 5194

6 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 2/4-2/10

Leave a Reply

