writing

Writing Week in Review: 2/11-2/17

Enfant_écrivant-Henriette_Browne

Last week I mentioned that I write in a scattered manner and pluck scenes from various places in the story. This week I continued that pattern and focused on writing the ending of my current work in progress. It hardly seemed to matter that I haven’t written all of the story’s innards yet; my brain was obsessed with the denouement.

Weekly Word Count Goal: 5000
Total New Words for Modern Mythology: 5072

An interesting opportunity cropped up at the tail end of last week as well. Because I am going to focus on it for the next several days, I’m dropping next week’s weekly word count goal to a grand total of zero. If I do manage to add to my fiction writing, that will be a bonus, but it certainly isn’t something I am going to push myself to do.

If that opportunity does blossom into something more, I’ll share it with you all as soon as I can. We’ll see how it goes!

10 thoughts on “Writing Week in Review: 2/11-2/17

  1. For a couple years now I’ve been wanting to adapt to that scattershot method of writing scenes out of order/context for long fiction. If I can ever let go of my narrative OCD 😉 If nothing else you at least have something on the page regardless of where it may ultimately exist in the larger narrative work. Keep rocking it, KT. You’re a real trooper!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Brandon! On a positive note, your narrative OCD tendencies are probably great for keeping track of what you have written. I’m constantly having to check and see whether words are on a page or if I simply thought of them once. Tricky little devils, words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes they are. Hey, best of luck on that new opportunity. I hope it manifests in the way that you’re hoping it does. I know what that suspense is like. I’m currently waiting on a new opportunity to resolve itself as well. The suspense (due to an untimely complication) has been nerve-wracking :-/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

