Quotes

Friday Quick Quote: ‘The End of the Affair’

“If I were writing a novel I would end it here: a novel, I used to think, has to end somewhere, but I’m beginning to believe my realism has been at fault all these years, for nothing in life now ever seems to end. Chemists tell you matter is never completely destroyed, and mathematicians tell you that if you halve each pace in crossing a room, you will never reach the opposite wall, so what an optimist I would be if I thought that this story ended here.”

-Graham Greene, The End of the Affair

The End of the Affair.jpg

17 thoughts on “Friday Quick Quote: ‘The End of the Affair’

    1. Definitely. The historian in me is fascinated (and occasionally horrified) by the aspects of novels that ground them during the periods of their writing. How the books treat people, places, what items are used in them…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

