books · Uncategorized

Words, Numbers, and Fun Facts about Famous Literature.

Did you know that of the 14 kisses found in Jane Austen’s novels, only 3 involve lip contact between a man and a woman, and 1 involves a man kissing a severed lock of hair? I certainly didn’t.

This week’s post about Alan Moore’s Jerusalem made me curious about the quirks and oddities of renowned literature. Though plenty of studies and well researched theses could tell me all about  various words and kisses in novels, I found myself attracted to the ‘Famous Literature: Words by Numbers’ infograph created by Cartridge Discount. The below image is in no way an all-encompassing analysis of world literature, but it provides a fun look a several popular titles, and I couldn’t help but share it.

Feel free to share any of your own trivia about novels as well! I find this stuff fascinating.

Book Infograph.jpg

 

31 thoughts on “Words, Numbers, and Fun Facts about Famous Literature.

    1. That’s a great question! There are a couple of free/open source products that are good for beginners.

      Venngage has both a free and a purchased version. Using the free version, you have a set of templates you can choose from though I believe you can only build a certain number of infographs per month.

      Dipity is good if you want to create an interactive timeline. It’s free and allows people co click in more deeply to various dates/times and engage with videos, images, etc.

      Visme has 20 free infograph templates that you can use. (Some of them are more attractive than others…)

      Piktochart also has some really great free templates that are fun to use.

      Unfortunately the issue with most of these products is that though many of them have a free version, the purchased version is always very tempting. Regardless, hopefully these will be enough to get you started. If you create anything that you plan to share, let me know! I’d love to see it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much for the providing this excellent list. I will start with Venngage. I will probably use it for a simple recipe, as a practice, for now. I will let you know how the recipe turns out using an infograph. 🙂 Have a wonderful day. Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Very interesting and entertaining post, Kristen! I wonder how many people are aware of MacKinlay Kantor’s novel-in-verse, GLORY FOR ME. Written in 1945, it was quickly adapted for the screen as the movie THE BEST YEARS OF OUR LIVES. It won the Academy Award for “Best Picture” in 1946. This “epic poem” and movie chronicles the lives of several World War Two veterans and their struggles to adapt back into society after the war. Great book and great movie!
    –Michael

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, most definitely. The work could have used a bit of cutting. Unfortunately I can’t quite remember if Richardson was from the era in which writers were paid by the word; if he was, I can understand the droning a bit more. (Lord knows if someone was paying me by the word, I would always find more to say.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

